Progress

August 9, 2008 § Leave a comment

Oh August 9.  Have you come already?

Let’s see what we have here:

  1. Have I been practicing?  Check.
  2. Have I been fundraising?  At least 200 people have been emailed, and approximately 3% have responded with donations, so:  Check.
  3. Have I been running?  Check!  Well, today I made the bittersweet, fatigue-induced discovery that maybe I can’t quite pull 2-hour runs out of absolutely nothing like I’ve been known to brag, but give me another week, I say… give me another week.
But I call this progress.  Oh yes oh yes I dooooooo la la la la.

Today at work, I saw that a co-worker of mine had an Academy of Art catalog with her.  “How cute”, I thought to myself, “she’s still in that phase.”  Because honestly, why would anyone want to pay lots of money to go to art school in San Francisco when you could instead pay lots of money to go to art school in Rhode Island??  No, I haven’t even been to Rhode Island yet, but a girl can dream, can’t she?

Seriously, whenever anyone mentions the East Coast, I get slightly wistful as I recall being there for those 4 months at Longy almost a year ago.  I want to go back.  I want to see snow.  I want the chill in the air, the crispness, the knowing that I’m not in California.  I’ve stretched my legs a little bit, and I’m itching to stretch them just a little bit more.  Luckily, I seem to be saving money at a tidy little rate, so we’ll see how it goes….

In the meantime, NYC on November 2nd!  The only con is that Jason Mraz is performing in Berkeley on the exact same day as the Marathon, but alas.  NIN in less than a month should be more than sufficient for a little while 🙂
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Progress at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

