Onwards.

November 22, 2008 § Leave a comment

The marathon went well. No, that’s an understatement. The marathon was a lot of fun, I loved running in New York, I loved running with all the people cheering on the streets and the little kids reaching out their hands to see if we would high five them as we all ran past, and I ran an hour faster than I expected,rain despite the fact that I was going on 2 hours of sleep and “training” that basically relied on my on-and-off year-long base-building of up to 16 miles… and my youth. Not that I didn’t get off scott free—I assure you that the entirety (I repeat, entirety) of both my legs hurt more than I had ever experienced before for a good 5+ hours after I finished.

Nevertheless, I would smugly like to add that I flew back that night, arriving home in SF by midnight and being up and ready to go at work by 11am the next morning. O youth, thou art a beautiful boon.

So, then, what has Katrina been up to since then? Eating too much, running not very much, and losing sleep over schoolwork. Yes, the semester is winding down, and that is the traditional time for me to start sending healthy tendencies to the very bottom rung of the priority list. I feel stressed out because of classes and work, and yet I still have this itching desire to sign up for 4 classes for next semester, sign up for Hapkido, train for more marathons and other races, re-schedule that recital, read read read, take on a slew of design projects, become fluently adept at vegetarian cuisine, save the whales, etc. No, Katrina. You are not being reasonable.

I always want to do too much. Or, I always feel like I am not doing enough. I see this in me, but it’s so hard to stop myself from succumbing each time. I think about how other people struggle, bust their butts to achieve their goals, and I feel guilty when I wonder if I’m not working quite as hard as them, and end up focusing on the struggling instead of the goal-achieving aspect of it all. I can explain this all very clearly right here, yet it doesn’t usually sink in when it comes time to deciding what I’m going to put on my plate. I don’t want to take a break because I feel like I’m running out of time. I am also bad at doing things in moderation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Onwards. at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

