Summer Objective

May 22, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’ve decided on something useful to keep myself busy this summer—I’m going to learn HTML and CSS. The w3 online tutorials look promising for such a task: this one for HTML and this one for CSS. Hopefully I can get this stuff down so I can start trying to make a site for myself. The goal is to finish with this design certificate by the end of next spring, and then maybe go for some sort of web design or programming one that would only take a semester or two, and maybe this knowledge would help me pass out of a couple of classes…. As lovely as Kokkari is as a place of employment, I’d love to be able to get my main income from graphic design instead as soon as possible.

Stay tuned for examples of my web experiments. I’m sure I’ll be decently over-excited about all of this in no time.

Oh and P.S.: June 2, like all first Tuesdays of the month, is the day for a free pass at the SFMOMA. Same with the De Young. It looks like they both have some pretty interesting exhibits going on, including an Otl Aicher exhibit (he did graphic design work for the 1972 Olympic games in Munich) at the MOMA and one called “Signs: Wordplay in Photography” at the De Young. I’m gonna crash both and try to give a good account of them afterwards.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Objective at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

