Paula Scher Interview

February 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

Here’s a Paula Scher interview that I just found off my handy twitter feed this morning (I knew twitter would have throw some enlightening gems my way every so often when I first signed up for it a few months ago). It’s a really good interview, really interesting (I tend to get bored and lose interest when I read things, even in subjects that I like, but this one was somehow really engaging), and the interview itself was designed on the page in a really nice way. Paula Scher makes some interesting points: that the responsibility of the designer is to “raise the expectation of what design can be”, and that, while designers tend to embrace cultural and other “good-for-society” work and shun corporate work, corporate work is what reaches audiences at a daily level, so well-designed corporate material can achieve this goal. She also touches upon what makes “good” and “bad” design, her experiences with different clients—what they’re looking for and what their responsibilities are, and the way that her design work evolves in cycles. All in all, a great interview. Reminds me that I need to read up more on both her and Pentagram.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paula Scher Interview at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

