Blogging

March 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Blogging is more work than I thought.

I meant to do weekly design blog entries this semester, but I think I fell off the bandwagon after a measly three entries. Three! Couldn’t even make it halfway to double digits, could I? It just takes a little bit of effort to make a good blog that gets noticed. Photos, illustrations, a point to your message, and links to polish it off. Moreover, it takes commitment, so that people know that if they visit your site at a certain time, they will be rewarded with a new interesting bit of entertainment or enlightenment.

Soon. Soon I will be more diligent about this. I promise.

Why does it matter, you ask? We’ve all become so immersed in the world of Facebook and Twitter and blogsites galore that not being a part of it makes you sort of out of the loop. And since participation is so damned easy, what are you doing that is so important that it doesn’t allow you the time to partake in the perpetual exchange of information, ideas and inspiration that gets updated every two to five minutes?

I know, I know. I tend to be wary of new technology and internet trends. I thought the whole big line of Apple products–iMacs, iPods, iPod shuffles, iPhones, iPads—were extravagant and unnecessary until I saw what a huge impact they’ve had on cultural development. I mean, the iPod ads are featured at the International Poster Gallery and iPhone apps are a must-have format for business development and marketing and outreach. Facebook and Twitter—silly, self-centered and inconsequential? Think how many sites have FB and Twitter links now. And especially as a designer, it’s crucial to stay up on new trends when they’re coming into existence and evolving so quickly. Not that everything new is relevant or useful, but the bare minimum of familiarity ensures that you can stay on top of new developments and not fall behind when they do prove to be of some significance. Designer is affected by culture, and culture is affected by technology. Blogging, too, used to seem strange to many people, but it’s become an important tool for anyone who has any interest in conversation and communication with others who hold the same passions, professions and interests as you. Important enough, at least, for Henrik Olsen of Hot Studio to mention it (and the importance of keeping up with new technological trends) at the most recent SF AIGA Perfecting Your Portfolio talk.

(My CCSF Graphics Communication class visited Hot Studio last Wednesday, by the way. Wow, I would so love to work at a design firm like Hot Studio, and all of my classmates who I’ve talked to about this feel exactly the same way!)

Anyway, when I get my personal design website up, you can be sure that it will have a blog. It’d be lovely if it could become as popular as Julie Powell’s blog in Julie & Julia, but I will settle for a simple, well-designed site with meaningful content first. (“Settle”—ha!)

Ciao ciao for now, invisible reader. Possible future blog posts include favorite ads, Lady Gaga <3, the talented and lovely Camaron Ochs, and perhaps a nice little photo essay of scenes of sunny San Francisco as this wonderful weather we’ve been having gets even warmer and more wonderful.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blogging at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

