An Uphill (Re)Start

June 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

The good news is that I felt recovered enough from my cold this morning to go for a run. The bad news is that it wasn’t a very good run. I ran just under 6 miles at 8:30 pace (which isn’t terrible but it felt like over 9:00!) and I feel winded like I haven’t run in 2 months.

It could be that I just haven’t fully recovered yet. Also, I’ve gained about 5 pounds in the past 2 weeks but as I was running it felt like I had a 15-pound weight implanted in my torso. I’ve got to get back down to 115 by the end of this month. I’ve accomplished that before, so I know I can do it again, and I’d maintained that weight for a good month or so before I started to slip. It’s just that when I’m not consciously thinking about it, my body still defaults to consuming the amount a 125-lb. person would instead of a 115-lb. person… so there you have it. Weight loss is probably 90% (I’m making up this number but it feels like it should be right) maintenance.

Also, I’m failing a little in the sleep and hydration department. So far my month average for sleep is 6.6 hrs, but if I get in 8 hours a night for the rest of the month I can get it up to 7, and I think that will help.

So here’s the game plan:

  • More sleep, more water, less food, more mileage.
  • Long runs for the next 5 weeks: 16, 18-20, 20, 22-4, 20-4
  • Track workouts with Pamakids on Thursdays
  • 9am Saturday runs with K-Stars on Saturdays (except for this coming one)
  • 3 6am runs during the rest of the week, covering parts of the marathon course

I’ve broken up the course into a few different segments.

  1. Mile 0–4: along the Embarcadero and Marina to the Presidio
  2. Mile 4–11: the Presidio and Golden Gate Bridge
  3. Mile 11-19: down 27th Ave (Richmond) and through Golden Gate Park
  4. Mile 19-21: Haight Street
  5. Mile 21–26.2: the Mission, Portrero Hill and South Beach (Ball Park)

If my mileage is still going to be pretty sucky for the next few days, I might as well concentrate on the first leg for a while and get used to that big hill at Fort Mason. Leg 2 and 3 I might try to run a few times, but I want to make sure that I really get familiar with Legs 4 and 5, because those points are where I’ll be the most tired and fluency with that part of the course will definitely be helpful when I feel like dying.

Getting excited again 🙂 Tomorrow I’m getting up at 5am to take Muni to the Embarcadero for Leg 1!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Uphill (Re)Start at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

