Mission: Boston

June 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

I was supposed to post this yesterday, but I forgot.

I’m going to go ahead and say this. I’m going to try to qualify for Boston in six weeks.

I know it’s an ambitious goal for me, and that even if I give it dedicated, disciplined effort from here on out it’s still going to be hit or miss, but I’m going to do just that. Qualifying means running the 26.2 miles in 3 hr 40 min, an average of 8:24 pace per mile. I’ve definitely got a fighting chance. For the next six weeks, Ill be making an extra effort to get enough sleep, eat as healthy as I possibly can, get in good flexibility and strength training, and working on mileage and speed work in addition to familiarizing with the course. I’ve started mapping out as detailed a workout schedule as I dare to do, and that means routinely getting up super early for runs so that my body will be ready for that come race day. Every little detail is going to count because I am so anxious to pull this off. Whatever stops I can pull, I will.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mission: Boston at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

