A Lazy Day, or Pre-Weekend Funk

August 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Figure 1

It’s a little unsettling how quickly an afternoon turns into evening without your having anything to show for it, when you wake up so late.

My indolence is tumbling me downhill like a snowball without emergency brakes. This can happen so easily when you have no roommate to hold you accountable for your actions, or lack thereof. Like, for not doing anything productive and instead walking around the apartment in your underwear, listening to 80’s pop while eating cookies in bed with your head still reeling from the previous night’s insomnia hangover, as I like to call it. Please tell me I’m not the only one who this kind of thing happens to.

If I allow this to go on, I will die fat and alone, and sat upon by rogue cats. (See Figure 1.)

Anyway, tomorrow will be different and better, I promise. I promise to myself, to my parents, to the great force that makes the Earth spin so responsibly on its axis, to those inspirational people in my life who set such a good example for me,* to everyone who has wished me good wishes and given me monetary and moral and emotional support, to everyone who is looking for me to succeed and has provided the sacrifices and generosity so that I can make it all happen. Don’t worry. You have my word. I will make this right and will peg away at my studies with a devotion that few will rival. Because this is what I’ve come here to do.

And on that note, here’s a little teaser for my next entry. Stay tuned:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Lazy Day, or Pre-Weekend Funk at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

