The $7/Day Challenge

August 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

August has been a terribly expensive month for me.

That’s a little bit of an understatement. It has been crazy/scary expensive. I finally tallied up everything I’ve spent money on, and it’s such a huge chunk of my savings and the most I’ve ever spent in a single month in my entire life by far. This was kind of expected because tuition was included that amount, but still, it’s a bit shocking. I also had a brokers fee and a rent deposit and a bunch of household items and furniture that I had to spend money on, but even the amount I spent on food, which is much more under my control, was mind-blowing. And, not to mention, way over budget.

This calls for drastic measures. And a little bit of a challenge. For the entire month of September, I am going to try to spend no more than $7 per day on food. That’s $49 per week, and $210 for the month, which includes groceries and eating out combined. While keeping up running. Anyway, running coach Joe Vigil suggests that while training you should eat like a poor person, right? Seven dollars per day isn’t too meager. And it’ll be so much easier once I can get over the fear of keeping food in my refrigerator (arriving tomorrow!) and kitchen cabinets. Until then, I’ll be trolling Union Square to find cheap places that provide me with the highest nutritional value per limited dollar.

I will keep you updated on my progress. Wish me luck!

P.S. Best diet plan ever.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The $7/Day Challenge at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

