An Epiphany

January 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

I did some calculations tonight.

This is very exciting.

If I can keep working 3 days a week at my current internship at $12/hr (let’s say $10.90/hr after taxes and deductions), and I maintain a monthly budget of $1650–$1800/month (which, thanks to my obsessive expense-tracking over the past six months, I know is well within reason), I won’t run out of money until the end of May. I did these calculations a couple times just to make sure I didn’t overlook anything jarring. And that’s even without taking into account any freelance gigs that I might happen to pick up.

Do you know what this means?

It means I don’t have to waste my time scrounging around for extra cash by working meaningless 8-hr days for petty change, and instead I can use the time and energy to focus full force on motion graphics. It means no more bullshit. It means no more wasting energy feeling frantic and crazy and stressed instead of being genuinely productive. It means I can get in my 40 hours/week of motion graphics practice, which from now until the end of May equals to over 700 hours of extra motion graphics practice. It means I can afford to take on an unpaid but meaningful part-time, meaningful motion graphics internship if need be.

Yes, it’s time to focus.

P.S. And in other, non-epiphany-related news, I ran my 3.4 miles of hill repeats tonight 28 seconds faster than I ran them last week, and last week I ran them 37 seconds faster than the last time I ran them. I think things are going to be just fine if I keep working at them like I have been.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Epiphany at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

