I need to get faster.

February 9, 2012 § 2 Comments

I’m not sure if it’s just that I’m not very good at speed work yet or that my irresponsible 23 miles of running on Monday is throwing me for a loop, but this much is clear: I want to make bigger improvements. My ultimate goal for the moment is of course qualifying for New York via the half, but another sub-goal is now to somehow dominate in the 5k.

Big talk for someone whose track workouts have been mediocre at best. But the fire has sparked in me now, so that is the start. I need to embrace the pain that the beast of speed brings. And somehow learn to cultivate that strong finishing kick that I have, the one that is formidable but still flighty and fickle. If I can master conjuring it at will, it can be a powerful asset. It feels like… freedom from physical restrictions; a state in which strength of will and pure joy as a runner can override that ache in the gut or the burning in the lungs. Like an invisible hand from above is lifting me up and propelling me forward. With gusto!

Maybe it’s time to up the core training and be more conscious of carb and fluid intake. (It’s surprisingly much easier to reach my DV for protein than for anything else. Who says vegetarians have problems with getting sufficient protein??) I’ve been making pretty good progress in gradually losing a few unneeded pounds, so that will undoubtedly help as well. We’ll see. Next Wednesday I will definitely be hitting the track with a greater dose of determination.

“Make friends with pain and you will never be alone.” -Ken Chlouber

§ 2 Responses to I need to get faster.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I need to get faster. at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

