Day 6 of 1000

March 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

They say that you have to love yourself before you can truly love someone else. Might it also be true that you must love the present in order to prepare well for a satisfying future?

I want to love myself today. I want to be healthy for the sake of feeling good about myself now, not in ten weeks or three months or at the end of the year. I want to be okay with being sad about thoughts that still inhabit my mind instead of wondering when I will learn to forget them, I want to love the company of the friends that I have today instead of worrying about how long or short a time I get to love it. I want to wake up each morning feeling ready for the hours ahead of me and go to sleep each night happy with the effort I’ve put forth and choices that I’ve made.

I don’t want to plan everything out. I have goals, but want to expect surprises.

Mostly, I don’t want three years to go by only to find that I was waiting to enjoy myself.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 6 of 1000 at On the road to Marathon No. 1.

meta

